Your Place For Answers To Common DUI Questions

If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI/DWI), you probably have numerous questions. When can I drive again? Will I get fired or go to jail? Should I just plead guilty and get this over with?

At Levine & Susaneck, PA, we have been helping people faced with drunk driving charges understand their options and minimize or eliminate the consequences of a DUI charge for over 25 years. A former assistant state attorney for the state of Florida, Fred Susaneck has lectured on DUI defense to attorneys across the U.S. and published written material on proper criminal defense techniques in DUI cases. At our law firm, you receive personal oversight of your case from Mr. Susaneck, a trial attorney with a reputation as an aggressive advocate in the courtroom.

We are ready to answer your questions and provide you with a strong defense. In addition, we have answered our most frequently asked questions below.

When Can I Drive Again?

Your license will be suspended after your arrest on suspicion of DUI. You will have 10 days from the date of your arrest to get a temporary driving permit, which is for essential driving only (to work, the grocery store, etc.)

To regain your driving privileges permanently, you must file for a review hearing with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. It is very difficult to win at a DMV hearing. However, it is possible, and such a hearing can help your lawyer obtain evidence to use in your criminal case. In addition, it is possible to obtain a hardship license (if you are eligible) even if you lose your DMV hearing. A first-time DUI charge results in a six-month license suspension.

Will I Get Fired?

A DUI conviction can result in decreased career opportunities and may result in jail time, putting your job at risk. Many employers have policies in place regarding DUI convictions. If you are a commercial driver or you have reason to believe a DUI conviction will put your career at risk, it is paramount to contact an experienced DUI attorney who understands the consequences of the various options before you.

What About Jail Or Prison?

Jail may be a possibility. If this is your first DUI charge and there are no other factors in play, you will likely not be incarcerated. However, previous DUI convictions, your BAC at the time of arrest, if someone was injured or killed, or if there were minor children in the vehicle can all affect what type of charge prosecutors will bring against you and whether your sentence can include time in prison.

What Can A Defense Attorney Do For Me?

It can often seem as if you have no real legal options when faced with a DUI charge. Some defendants mistakenly believe there is nothing to do but plead guilty. However, there are a number of options before you. A DUI defense lawyer can help you examine your case, look for options to minimize penalties or protect your constitutional rights that could result in your case being dismissed or won.

For answers to questions about your particular situation, call our Palm Beach County office at 561-820-2967 or schedule online.